top of page
  • Writer's pictureamelianamora18

July 29 to August 4 Reading Wrap Up

Hello fellow readers and welcome back to another wrap up!


I got out of my reading slump earlier this week and ended up reading 3 books, all of which I enjoyed. I tried to read books that I would like so I didn't go back into the slump.


Furyborn by Claire Legrand


This was the book that got me out of my reading slump.


For the first 200 pages I was in my slump. I was only reading this on the train to and from uni because I spend about three hours travelling each day, and even on the train I'd sometimes not read. But other than that I was not reading at all.


Now, this was not because I didn't like the book, it was actually the complete opposite. I was liking the story and the direction it was going, it was just the slump that was forcing me not to read.


Then I reached 200 pages and things start to change. I got out of my reading slump and ended up finish the last 300 or so pages in two days.


I loved the characters, the plot, the execution of the story and want to read the sequel asap.


I rated this book 5 out of 5 stars.


Court of Shadows by Madeleine Roux


This book is the sequel to House of Furies.


I liked how this book continued from House of Furies. Although I would've liked to have seen what happens directly after, the time gap between the two books were not that long, only a few months.


I did like the introduction of new characters and how they played a roll in the plot. I would never have thought that the secondary characters would have been key to the story as they were. I quite liked this.


I did, also, rate this book 5 out of 5 stars and want a sequel.


Wild by Aprilynne Pike


This is the third book in the Wings series so I am not going to be talking a lot about it because of spoilers.


Wild is by far my least favourite in the series. I did feel that the plot was recycled from the first two books, especially in the beginning half. When that same plot has been used for three books things start to get boring.


I also felt that including Tamani's point of view after the first two books being only in Laurel's was a bit annoying. Although the books are written in third person, the first to books only followed Laurel. But then in Wild we follow both Laurel and Tamani. I didn't like this change in perspective.


I did end up giving this book 4 stars out of 5.


So this really concludes my reading wrap up.

I'm so glad I'm out of my reading slump and back to my usual self.


Happy reading!

 

Use this Book depository link to buy books and I will receive a 5% commission: http://www.bookdepository.com/?a_aid=ameliainwonderland

Recent Posts

See All

August 19 to 25 Reading Wrap Up

Hey guys and welcome back to another reading wrap up! This week I managed to finish reading 3 books. I am only going to briefly talk about each book. I don't have a lot of time on my hands at the mome

August 12 to 18 Reading Wrap Up

Hello fellow readers and welcome back to another reading wrap up. This week I ended up finishing 3 books, all of which I enjoyed. 3 books seems to be the average number of books I read a week. I don't

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Google+ Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Tumblr Social Icon
  • Snapchat Social Icon

Thanks! Message sent.

bottom of page