top of page
  • Writer's pictureamelianamora18

May 3 to 12 Reading Wrap up.

So I've decided to start weekly reading wrap ups instead of monthly just becaue I am reading so much in a month that when it comes time to write them I'm talking about so many books that it can become a little overwhelming.


I know this was longer than a week, but I wanted to post these every Saturday and last week I would have only been able to talk about 1 book, so I thought I would just combine the remaining of last week with this week to created 1 post.


I'm gonna stop babbling and just get right into the wrap up.

I read 4 books during this period, most of them I liked.

These have been read in this order, just for your information.


The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness


There was something about this book that made me so unmotivated to pick it up. Like I would read, enjoy some of what I've read, put the book down and not want to pick it back up. I don't know what it was, but I just felt unmotivated to read it, and thus taking me a little longer to finish it than it should have.


I do have to say the some parts of the book were a little slow. Like for the most part the story follows Todd and Viola running while nothing much is happening. Sure in these parts we learnt important parts about the world that the book is set in and discover important information, but I feel most of the running could have been cut out and there could have been a more interesting way for this information to be revealed to the readers.


The ending though! I was left wanting to know more and I do own the remaining books in this trilogy. I definitely plan on continuing the series, when I get around to it who knows...


I rated this book 3 out of 5 stars, maybe a 3.5.


Furthermore by Tahereh Mafi


For the most part I really enjoyed this book. I loved the world that Mafi created and the characters that we got to follow. I had heard so many great things about this book and for most of them it did live up to what everyone was saying, but there was one thing that not many people are saying that I found rather disappointing and needs to be said...


The ending to this book was the disappointment. As I was reading towards the end of the book I thought something big was going to happen, something better than what actually happened. But then when you're so close to finishing the book, and you feel so much more could happen, then BAM the ending has arrived and the book is over...

Umm what?!

The ending just happened so quickly and I felt it to be a little rushed. It could have been flushed out more but I feel Mafi went for an easier ending. I don't know if anyone else felt this way about it, but I definitely do.


I did give this book a 4.5 out of 5 stars rating. It was so good until the ending.


A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas


This was my first time picking up this book and I know I am a little behind on reading it.


I do have a full spoiler-free review up on this blog, so to read about my thoughts and opinions you can go read that, but essentially I really loved this book.


I did rate this book 5 out of 5 stars... if only the rating scale could go higher...


Neverland by Margot McGovern


This book does contain trigger warnings for:

- suicide

- self-harm

- depression

- PTSD


I have mixed feelings about this book.

For starters I enjoyed the representation of mental illness. We get to see a variety of different illnesses, and because we are in the head of our main character, we get to see what it is really like for her living with them.


I also enjoyed the addition of fantasy into the story. The inclusion of fantastical elements made the story a little more interesting to read.

I think this is meant to be a Peter Pan retelling, I'm not to sure about it so don't quote me on it.


But the story was definitely lacking something. The story had potential, it could have been more entertaining to read than it was, so much could have been done with it, but nothing was.


And hence a 3 out of 5 star rating.


This concludes this weeks reading wrap up.

I feel this week was a good reading week for me.

I'll see you all next week for another reading wrap up.

Happy reading!


Use this Book depository link to buy books and I will receive a 5% commission: http://www.bookdepository.com/?a_aid=ameliainwonderland

Recent Posts

See All

August 5 to 11 Reading Wrap Up

Hello fellow readers and welcome back to another reading wrap up! This week I finished reading 3 books. 2 of these books I absolutely loved, the last one I didn't. Destined by Aprilynne Pike This is t

July 22 to 28 Reading Wrap Up

Hello fellow readers and welcome back to another reading wrap up! This is gonna be a very short wrap up. I recently found myself stumbling into a reading slump and if you have read last weeks reading

July 15 to 21 Reading Wrap Up

Hello fellow readers and welcome back to another reading wrap up! This week was crazy. I finished reading 6 books, keep in mind though the last few books were kinda short and I read them all in a day.

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Google+ Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Tumblr Social Icon
  • Snapchat Social Icon

Thanks! Message sent.

bottom of page