top of page
  • Writer's pictureamelianamora18

August 5 to 11 Reading Wrap Up

Hello fellow readers and welcome back to another reading wrap up!


This week I finished reading 3 books. 2 of these books I absolutely loved, the last one I didn't.


Destined by Aprilynne Pike


This is the fourth and final book in the Wings series.


I thought this was the best conclusion to the series.


Not everything was a happy ending and I feel like when a book purely focuses on a happy ending it can seem to unrealistic. Destined didn't do that and I was happy to see that not everything worked out like one would imagine.


If you have not read this series, or if you have started the series but you haven't finished it, I highly recommend that you do.

I rated this book 5 out of 5 stars.


More Than We Can Tell by Brigid Kemmerer


I was debating about writing a full review for this book. There are so many things I would like to talk about but I just don't have the time. I am back at uni, full time, and need to keep on top of everything. I have to get things ready for prac, which will be happening in the beginning of September. Taking the time to write a full review is something I cannot afford to do at this current time.


I picked this book up not knowing that it was a companion novel to Letters to the Lost. I found this out after starting it but I decided to continue reading.


Although I would have liked to have read Letters to the Lost first, I did really enjoy More Than We Can Tell and definitely think that you can read this book without reading the first book.


Both books follow different characters but both stories connect. More Than We Can Tell takes place after the events that happened in Letters to the Lost.

There were so any things in this book that I don't often read about or experience. I thought everything was very realistic and I enjoyed every single page. The more I continued reading the more I fell in love with the characters and the story.

I gave this book 5 out of 5 stars

Now I do need to read Letter to the Lost.


The Earth, My Butt, and Other Big Round Things by Carolyn Mackler


Now time for the book that I didn't enjoy as much as the others.


This book has trigger warnings for depression, rape, self-harm and bulimia! So keep that in mind if you decide to pick up this book.

I did enjoy this book but there were some things that I did not like.

The first thing is that it took to long to get anywhere. The first 100 pages were the same story, and for a book that is 250 pages long it shouldn't have taken that long to get into it. I felt there wasn't much of a plot.

Another thing is that the ending happened quickly. The book rounded itself off too fast for the pacing that was started in the first 200 pages. I feel like the author could have taken the last 50 pages or so and flush them out to make a longer book.

Something I did like was the connection I felt with Virginia. I connected with her on so many levels, I feel that she is a good representation of female girls who overweight or don't have much body confidence.


I rated this book 3 out of 5 stars.


So this really concludes this weeks reading wrap up.


Happy reading!!

 

Use this Book depository link to buy books and I will receive a 5% commission: http://www.bookdepository.com/?a_aid=ameliainwonderland

Recent Posts

See All

July 22 to 28 Reading Wrap Up

Hello fellow readers and welcome back to another reading wrap up! This is gonna be a very short wrap up. I recently found myself stumbling into a reading slump and if you have read last weeks reading

July 15 to 21 Reading Wrap Up

Hello fellow readers and welcome back to another reading wrap up! This week was crazy. I finished reading 6 books, keep in mind though the last few books were kinda short and I read them all in a day.

July 8 to 14 Reading Wrap Up

Hello fellow readers and welcome back to another reading wrap up. This week was a bit of a slow reading week. I did only manage to read 2 books, both being fairly short. One of Us is Lying by Karen Mc

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Google+ Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Tumblr Social Icon
  • Snapchat Social Icon

Thanks! Message sent.

bottom of page