top of page
  • Writer's pictureamelianamora18

March/April Wrap up

So here is is, finally, a reading wrap up for March and April.

This is going to be fun.

Between the two months I read a total of 29 books... and now we are going to be here for a while.


Not all of these books will have reviews, only a few will.

I think I might just get right into it because I do have 29 books to talk about.


Eliza and her Monsters by Francesca Zappia


This book does have a review, so I am not going to talk about my thoughts.

I rated this book 3.5 out of 5 stars. If you would like to know more you can check out my review.


Release by Patrick Ness


I found this book very confusing and honestly for most of the parts I had no idea what was going on. I might have to give this book a reread sometime in the future to see if I am not as confused going into it a second time.

I did rate this book 3 out of 5 stars because I enjoyed the bits of the story that I did understand.


A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness


I do have a full review up for this book.

I rated it 5 out of 5 stars, really enjoyed this Ness book.


Thinner by Stephen King


I do have a full review up for this book as well.

I did rate this book 4 out of 5 stars. Go check out my review for more of my thoughts.


The Summoning by Kelley Armstrong


I loved this book so much and I am kinda sad that my local library doesn't have the sequels. I would really love to continue the series to find out what happens.

Obviously rated this book 5 out of 5 stars.


Red Dragon by Thomas Harris


This book was on my list of books that I want to reread in 2018 and I can say with confidence that I loved this book as much as I loved it when I read it for the first time.

If you are a Hannibal Lecter fan, go read this series. All the books are amazing.

I rated this book 5 out of 5 stars for the second time.


Carrie by Stephen King


I do have a full review up for this book where you can check out my thoughts.

I'm just going to say that I rated this book 5 out of 5 stars.


Anna Dressed in Black by Kendare Blake


This book was amazing, but there were some aspects of the story that left me pretty confused.

I don't want to go into too much detail about what annoyed me about this book, but here is one for you.

Anna is a ghost, right, but somehow she has the capability of cutting herself and bleeding...

I rated this book 4 out of 5 stars.


The Masked Truth by Kelley Armstrong


It was during these past two months that I started reading a few of Armstrong's books. And to be honest I really love her work.

I did, at no surprise, love this book and recommend it to everyone.

Rated it 5 out of 5 stars, no more explanation needed here.


Are You Seeing Me by Darren Groth


I rated this book 4.5 out of 5 stars.

The only reason why I dropped the rating by 0.5 is because of the representation of mental illness. But other than that I did really enjoy this read.


The Long Walk by Stephen King


Lets just say I did not enjoy this book as much as I thought I would. The concept behind it sounded so interesting, but I was wrong.

For most of the book I felt like nothing happened and what did happen was repeated. The ending was amazing though.

I rated this book 2.5 out of 5 stars.


Gwendy's Button Box by Stephen king


I loved this book and flew through it so quickly!

Usually when I pick up a King novel it usually is a hit or miss, I will either enjoy it or I will find it boring, like The Long Walk.

This book was not a disappointment! I am so glad I read this when I did.

I rated this book 5 out of 5 stars.


Everything Everything by Nicola Yoon


Everyone knows I am not a huge fan of romance. But if they are done good then that is a different story.

There is something about Yoon's writing where she always seems to engage me, no matter what she is writing about.

You can assume I rated this book 5 out of 5 stars.


Percy Jackson and the Lightning Bolt Thief by Rick Riordan


I think because I watch the movie before I read this book I enjoyed this much less that I could have. I often found I was comparing the movie to the book.

Because the movie was so different to the book, and I loved the movie when I watched it, seeing the difference in the book made me not like the book so much.

I did rate the book 4 out of 5 stars, so I did enjoy it.


My Sister Rosa by Justine Larbalestier


Now this book!!

It was so interesting and I don't think I have ever come across a book that has the same of similar concept.

Something else I loved was the diversity of characters. If you give this a read you will see that there is a wide range of diverse characters.

I rated this book 5 out of 5 stars, highly recommend.


Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli


This was a good read if you enjoy reading about a coming out story of a teenage boy.

I didn't hate this book, I mean I rated it 4 out of 5 stars, but there wasn't a huge focus on plot. Plot and action is what needs to happen in a book in order for me to give it a full star rating, but this book lacked a lot of plot, especially in the first half.

I am still waiting for Leah on the Offbeat to show up in the mail...


The Missing by Kelley Armstrong


This book was so good, I often found it very hard to put this book down!

My rating is 4.5 out of 5 stars. The reason why it wasn't given 5 stars is because I did not care about the romance that happened between two characters. I did not like it and honestly the book would have done well without it.


Coraline by Neil Gaiman


When I was a kid I used to watch the film adaptation so many times. It was one of my favourite movies and because of that I wanted to pick up the book.

I can guarantee you that I loved the book as much as I loved the movie.

I rated this book 5 out of 5 stars.


The Goose Girl by Shannon Hale


If you didn't know, this is the first book in The Books of Bayern series. I read both this and Enna Burning this month.

I can say the I really enjoyed the second half of this book... maybe not so much the first half. I struggled getting into the story but once I was in I loved it. Hence the 4 out of 5 star rating.


Enna Burning by Shannon Hale


I am not going to talk about this book, I have a full review written that you can check out.

My rating was 3 out of 5 stars, enjoyed this less than The Goose Girl.


The Wicked Deep by Shea Ernshaw


I don't read a lot of books that involve witches, actually I don't think I have read any...

This was one of the first witch novels that I enjoyed so much. I feel like there has been a bit of hype around this book, but the book deserves it.

Rated 5 out of 5 stars!


Zenith by Sasha Alsberg and Lindsay Cummings


I have a full spoiler-filled review of the first 70 pages because that is how much I read.

Rated it 1 star.

I don't know if I will give this book a full read, I might when the sequel comes out, hopefully that is better.


The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman


I seem to be one of the only people who did not like this book. I don't want to go into too much detail about my feeling because I do have a review up, but I just found this book to be very boring.

I rated this book 2 out of 5 stars and DNFed it at chapter 4.


The Sudden Appearance of Hope by Claire North


Another book that I DNFed. I literally could only get 55 pages into the book. I was so bored.

I do have a full review that you can go check out.

I rated this book 1 out of 5 stars.


Three Dark Crowns by Kandare Blake


After reading three books that I didn't like, I was a little skeptical going into this book. There is so much hype around this series, I wasn't too sure if I would like it.

I can tell you right now that I loved reading this book. The only problems I had with it was the pacing and the number of character. The pacing was a little slow at times, and there were so many characters that I was confusing most of the characters up.

I did rate this book 4 out of 5 stars, and am waiting for the sequel to be shipped.


Truly Devious by Maureen Johnson


I am not going to go into too much raving about this book because I do have a review up, but I really loved this book! It is one of my favourite 2018 reads and I want everyone to go and pick up this book. You will not be disappointed.

I rated this book 5 out of 5 stars and I cannot wait for the next book to be released.


The Complete Fairy Tales by the Grimm Brothers


I started reading this back at the start of the year.

It is a book filled with fairytales. I only read the ones that I wanted to read.

I find rating books with multiple stories in them is hard to do, because you can really love some but really dislike others. When rating this book I went for the middle rating of 3 stars just because I did not read all the stories.


The Astonishing Colour of After by Emily X.R. Pan


I really loved the representation of mental illness and suicide throughout this book. I feel it did a really good job at describing the experience of a teenager after the loss their mother to suicide.

I did rated this book 4 out of 5 stars only because I found some parts of the story boring and hard to get through.


Cinder by Marissa Meyer


I loved this book! Loved it so much and I cannot wait for the rest of the books to come in the mail. I was literally 1 chapter into the book when I order the rest of the series, it was that good.

My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.


And there we have it. All 29 books that I read in the span of March and April.


I feel like because I am reading so much so quickly I might start doing weekly wrap ups instead of monthly. Just so I don't forget my feelings towards books that I read earlier. Let me know, either by messaging me or commenting on this post if you would be interested in seeing weekly updates instead of monthly.


I'll probably start the weekly updates next week.

Happy Reading.


Use this Book depository link to buy any of the books on this list and I will receive a 5% commission: http://www.bookdepository.com/?a_aid=ameliainwonderland

Recent Posts

See All

August 5 to 11 Reading Wrap Up

Hello fellow readers and welcome back to another reading wrap up! This week I finished reading 3 books. 2 of these books I absolutely loved, the last one I didn't. Destined by Aprilynne Pike This is t

July 22 to 28 Reading Wrap Up

Hello fellow readers and welcome back to another reading wrap up! This is gonna be a very short wrap up. I recently found myself stumbling into a reading slump and if you have read last weeks reading

July 15 to 21 Reading Wrap Up

Hello fellow readers and welcome back to another reading wrap up! This week was crazy. I finished reading 6 books, keep in mind though the last few books were kinda short and I read them all in a day.

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Google+ Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Tumblr Social Icon
  • Snapchat Social Icon

Thanks! Message sent.

bottom of page