top of page
  • Writer's pictureamelianamora18

June 17 to 23 Reading Wrap Up

Welcome to another reading wrap up!


This week I read 3 books, 1 of them being a low rated book while the other two were on the higher side of the rating scale.


(Still have no idea how to start this!)


Jackaby by William Ritter


This is the first book in the Jackaby series.


If you like the supernatural, historical fiction, Sherlock Holmes and mystery then you will love this book.


The characters are characters that you will fall in love with.

The story is written from the perspective of Abigail, but then I fell in love with Jackaby more than Abigail. I found Jackaby to be such an interesting character and could see how much like Sherlock he is.


Don't think that I didn't love the other characters as well. All the character you grow to love.


I enjoyed every minute I was reading this book and cannot wait to pick up the rest of the series.

5 out of 5 stars read!

Highly recommend.


Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi


The Shatter Me series gets so much hype in this community, so I thought I would give it a read.

This definitely was not my favourite read.


Don't get me wrong I did enjoy it and do plan on continuing the series, but I just felt like this book didn't have as much plot as I was hoping for. I feel it focused more on world building and character building than the actual plot itself.


I am hoping the Unravel Me focuses more on plot and has a lot more action and adventure than Shatter Me did.


4 out of 5 stars rating.


Ash Princess by Laura Sebastian


Disclaimer: all opinions are my own and if I don't like a book that you loved it is totally fine. We are all allowed to have different opinions.


This book was such a disappointment.

If you are going to compare a book to the Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas then you need to make sure the book is just as amazing.


I love Throne of Glass, it is one of my absolute favourite series and I cannot wait for the final book to be released later this year. So excited!


So, being compared to Throne of Glass I thought I would give this book a read, because Throne of Glass is amazing so one would think that Ash Princess would be too.

Wrong.


Ash Princess was so boring! I read about half of the book and almost DNFed it. Instead I thought I would continue reading in the hopes that it would get better. It did, to a certain extent.


I would say the last 100 pages or so (maybe even less) was where all the action was. The lead up to that was boring and nothing eventful or exciting happened. It was all boring and useless. The ending was the only thing I did not see coming, everything else was predictable and I have already seen before


I found Theodosia to be somewhat annoying. It is implied that she is meant to be 16 but instead she acts of a completely different age. The decisions she has to make shouldn't be decisions that someone this age should be making. She is a child herself yet she makes the decision to have people killed. No 16 year old should be making that decision. And even when one does, you would think that they would be scarred emotionally or show some emotional distress when they decide to kill someone they have known and communicated with for 10 years. Nope, Theo doesn't have any reactions or emotions to killing people.


It was just unrealistic and I did not like it.


I don't know if I will continue reading this series. I kinda want to find out what happens next but I really don't care for the story.


2 out of 5 stars rating.


My review for Ash Princess was not meant to be this long... maybe I should have written an individual review for it where I could rant about it even more.


So this is the end of another reading wrap up. 3 books this week was great, even if one of the turned out to be a disappointment.


Happy reading guys!!


Use this Book depository link to buy books and I will receive a 5% commission: http://www.bookdepository.com/?a_aid=ameliainwonderland

Recent Posts

See All

August 5 to 11 Reading Wrap Up

Hello fellow readers and welcome back to another reading wrap up! This week I finished reading 3 books. 2 of these books I absolutely loved, the last one I didn't. Destined by Aprilynne Pike This is t

July 22 to 28 Reading Wrap Up

Hello fellow readers and welcome back to another reading wrap up! This is gonna be a very short wrap up. I recently found myself stumbling into a reading slump and if you have read last weeks reading

July 15 to 21 Reading Wrap Up

Hello fellow readers and welcome back to another reading wrap up! This week was crazy. I finished reading 6 books, keep in mind though the last few books were kinda short and I read them all in a day.

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Google+ Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Tumblr Social Icon
  • Snapchat Social Icon

Thanks! Message sent.

bottom of page