top of page
  • Writer's pictureamelianamora18

July 8 to 14 Reading Wrap Up

Hello fellow readers and welcome back to another reading wrap up.


This week was a bit of a slow reading week. I did only manage to read 2 books, both being fairly short.


One of Us is Lying by Karen McManus


I know most of you have already read and loved this book. I know I'm a little late to the game but I have seen so many people rate this book 5 stars. So I thought that I was going to enjoy this book a lot.


Although I did rate this book highly, I still had some issues with the beginning. There was something about both the writing and the pacing that put me off from reading it. Due to these two reasons I was very close to dnfing it. But then I reached the half way point and things started to turn around for me.


After the half way point things started to pick up with the pacing. I was now more engaged with the story and invested to solving the mystery. It was this point where I struggled to put the book down.


McManus has created such a unique and interesting story, I certainly did not guess what was going to happen.


I highly recommend that, if you have not already, pick up this book. You may, when you first start reading, think that it is the same as other books that you may have read that are similar to this but I guarantee you that they are not the same! You will have to trust me, just wait until the second half of the book, that is when things start to get very interesting.


I did rate this book a 4 out of 5 stars. I was going to give it a 3 but then the last half of the book turned out to be absolutely amazing.


The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas by John Boyne


I think I might be the only person in the world who did not cry during both the book and the movie... is it just me? (I'm not a very emotional person and crying is something that rarely happens).


But even though I didn't cry I still thought it was such a sad story. To read about this coming from the perspective of a child who has no idea what is going on is heartbreaking.


For those of you who don't know, this book was set during WW2, around about the time when the Holocaust was taking place. We follow a young boy, the child of a Nazi, who has no idea about the Jews and what is happening to them.


I feel this was such an empowering story to be written from such a young point of view.


I rated the book 5 out of 5 stars. Highly recommend for all ages.


So this really concludes this weeks reading wrap up. I'm hoping next week will be a better week in terms of reading.


Happy reading!


Use this Book depository link to buy books and I will receive a 5% commission: http://www.bookdepository.com/?a_aid=ameliainwonderland

Recent Posts

See All

August 5 to 11 Reading Wrap Up

Hello fellow readers and welcome back to another reading wrap up! This week I finished reading 3 books. 2 of these books I absolutely loved, the last one I didn't. Destined by Aprilynne Pike This is t

July 22 to 28 Reading Wrap Up

Hello fellow readers and welcome back to another reading wrap up! This is gonna be a very short wrap up. I recently found myself stumbling into a reading slump and if you have read last weeks reading

July 15 to 21 Reading Wrap Up

Hello fellow readers and welcome back to another reading wrap up! This week was crazy. I finished reading 6 books, keep in mind though the last few books were kinda short and I read them all in a day.

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Google+ Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Tumblr Social Icon
  • Snapchat Social Icon

Thanks! Message sent.

bottom of page