top of page
  • Writer's pictureamelianamora18

Thinner by Stephen King

Man I love Stephen King!!


Thinner was originally written under Richard Bachman, which if you didn't know was Stephen King's pseudonym when he first started writing.


So if you don't know what this book is about then here is the synoposis:

'Thinner' - the old gypsy man barely whispered the word. Billy feels the touch of the withered hand, gentle on his cheek.


Billy Halleck, prosperous if overweight citizen, happily married, shudders then angrily turns away. The old woman's death had been none of his fault. The courts have cleared him. She just stumbled in front of his car. Now he simply wants to forget about the while messy business.


Later, when the scales tell him he is losing weight, it is just what the doctor ordered. His wife is pleased - as she should be but...


'Thinner' - the word, the old man's curse, has lodged in his mind like a fattening word, eating at his flesh, at his reason. And with his despair, come violence.


Sounds interesting right?!


I had first watch the movie adaptation a while ago. I did love it and wanted to read the book. At this stage I was binge watching Stephen King book movie adaptations, something I should do again when I get the chance.


While reading this book I released I had not written any review notes. So I am going off what I remember, which shouldn't be a lot, so I apologise for the short review.


To start of with there is something about King's writing that just takes me longer than it should to read. I don't know if it is his writing or the size of the words on the page, but I tend to take longer to read any of King's books than it would take me to read any other book of the same size. And it isn't that I don't enjoy what he writes, I mean he is one of my favourite authors, my favourite horror author... So who knows.


I love the stories take on eating disorders.


So Billy starts off in the story as being very overweight, introducing obesity. Then Billy gets cursed and starts to lose weight until the point where he is very skinny, introducing anorexia. Billy even think he has a psychological form of anorexia. These two eating disorders are illnesses that a lot of people have to deal with. King puts a dark twist on them, and I just think this was creative.


I enjoyed reading Thinner just as much as I enjoyed the movie.

I rated this book 4 out of 5 stars.

Happy reading.


Use this Book depository link to buy Thinner or other books and I will receive a 5% commission: http://www.bookdepository.com/?a_aid=ameliainwonderland


You can also use this link to Cratejoy to discover subscription boxes. They have boxes for almost anything! If you decide to purchase anything, I will receive a 15% commission.

Recent Posts

See All

To Kill A Kingdom by Alexandra Christo

I do have to say this before I start the review: all opinions are my own. It is fine for me to hate this book while another person loves it. Everyone has their own opinions. I know if I don't say this

Leah on the Offbeat by Becky Albertalli

Guys! This book... I was left speechless and emotional after I finished reading this. It was so good. If you don't know, Leah on the Offbeat is a sequel to Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda, which was

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

Who doesn't love a Sarah J. Maas book? Not me. If you don't then I don't know what you are doing here... You should have already read this book, and possibly the rest of the series, because I am behin

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Google+ Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Tumblr Social Icon
  • Snapchat Social Icon

Thanks! Message sent.

bottom of page