top of page
  • Writer's pictureamelianamora18

The Sun Is Also A Star by Nicola Yoon

Updated: Jan 27, 2018

Welcome back to a second review this week. I am excited about this one.


I honestly don't know how to start this review. I don't have much to say except how much I loved this book! It is now one of my favourite non-horror read. Absolutely amazing. It was a good quick read that I was not expecting to finish so quickly


The Sun Is Also A Star follows the story of 2 teenagers, a Korean boy named Daniel and a Jamaican girl named Natasha. The story is set on the day that Natasha and her family is being deported from America. On her last day in America we get to see Natasha starting to fall in love with a boy she met that same day, Daniel. It is a cute YA contemporary book that I think all of you will love.


I am disappointed with myself. This book has been sitting on my Goodreads want to read shelf since good old 2014. And it has just been sitting there waiting for me to read it... I don't know why I didn't pick it up anytime sooner. I should not have waited 3/4 years to read this. No one should do this! If it is on you TBR, READ IT!! If it isn't, put it on your TBR and read it. The book talks about some important issues that are relevant to todays society, especially in America.


I was finding that I was having trouble putting the book down. I would often set myself goals, so I would put my bookmark after say 50 or 75 pages and force myself to put the book down and do something else. Is wasn't until towards the middle of the book where I just decided to binge read it. Why force yourself to put it down when you don't want to right?! So thats what I did, I binge read it and finished it soon after. I am glad I did that because that means you guys get 2 reviews in one week, which probably will never happen again. I don't read very fast, but occasionally I spend more time reading one day than I would another.


This book deals with a very important issue in todays society. Immigration. Although I am not living in America, immigrants living in America are going through the same issue that Natasha has to go through. Many teenagers are going through the threat of being forced to leave their future and go back to a country they may not know. Some of them will definitely now know the country as they were born in America but because their parents are immigrants and they are under a certain age, they are under the threat of deportation as well. I think Yoon portrays the issue of immigration and deportation in a relatively good way through the eyes of Natasha and Daniel.


Along with immigration, we also see some issue of racism. From what I gathered, Daniel's father and brother are both racist towards Natasha, not so much his mother. And then people on the streets are also racist and stereotype that Natasha and Daniel should be with someone who is of their own race. Even Natasha and Daniel get that that is what they were thinking when people saw them together. Yoon has a good way of showing readers that it doesn't matter what race you come from, love is love and you should be with whomever you please and love.


I think Yoon puts out a very empowering message about racism and immigration in America. I love how she focuses this message towards young adults and gets them to see the issue that a lot of immigrants in America could be facing in the future.


I really hope that those of you who have not read this book yet will read it one day soon.

I rated this book 5 out of 5 stars.

Happy reading!


Use this Book depository link to buy books and I will receive a 5% commission: http://www.bookdepository.com/?a_aid=ameliainwonderland

Recent Posts

See All

To Kill A Kingdom by Alexandra Christo

I do have to say this before I start the review: all opinions are my own. It is fine for me to hate this book while another person loves it. Everyone has their own opinions. I know if I don't say this

Leah on the Offbeat by Becky Albertalli

Guys! This book... I was left speechless and emotional after I finished reading this. It was so good. If you don't know, Leah on the Offbeat is a sequel to Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda, which was

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

Who doesn't love a Sarah J. Maas book? Not me. If you don't then I don't know what you are doing here... You should have already read this book, and possibly the rest of the series, because I am behin

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Google+ Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Tumblr Social Icon
  • Snapchat Social Icon

Thanks! Message sent.

bottom of page