top of page
  • Writer's pictureamelianamora18

The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman

Here we are with another bad review written on the same day as another bad review.


I'm just gonna give you the synopsis before I start talking about my thoughts.


Synopsis:

Nobody Owens (that is his name...), known as Bod, is a normal boy. He would be completely normal is he didn't live in a graveyard, being raised by ghosts, with a guardian who belongs to neither the world of the living nor the dead. There are adventures in the graveyard for a boy - an ancient Indigo Man, a gateway to the abandoned city of ghouls, the strange and terrible Sleer. Bt if Bod leaves the graveyard, he will be in danger from the man Jack - who has already killed Bod's family.


I really wanted to like this book. It sounded exactly like something I would enjoy. But with the mixture of many things the likeliness of me liking this book deteriorated pretty quickly.


To start with I am going to talk about the length of the chapters. Each chapter was between 30 and 50 pages. I am one of those people who like reading short chapters. I feel like when I am reading short chapter I am reading more, if that makes sense. But with long chapters, a lot of the time, things just drag out, and thats what I felt like with this book.


Another this I disliked was the writing. So I've read Coraline by the same author and found the writing to be manageable, I enjoyed Coraline. And because Coraline was a short book the writing style fit. But with The Graveyard Book, the writing style did not. You can assume that I am not going to be reading any more books that are written by Gaiman, no thank you.


And the sad thing is I really did like the first 2 chapters. But then everything went down hill from there.


I DNFed this book at chapter 4 and am not reading anymore!!


I rated this book 2 out of 5 stars.


Use this Book depository link to buy any other books and I will receive a 5% commission: http://www.bookdepository.com/?a_aid=ameliainwonderland

Recent Posts

See All

To Kill A Kingdom by Alexandra Christo

I do have to say this before I start the review: all opinions are my own. It is fine for me to hate this book while another person loves it. Everyone has their own opinions. I know if I don't say this

Leah on the Offbeat by Becky Albertalli

Guys! This book... I was left speechless and emotional after I finished reading this. It was so good. If you don't know, Leah on the Offbeat is a sequel to Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda, which was

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

Who doesn't love a Sarah J. Maas book? Not me. If you don't then I don't know what you are doing here... You should have already read this book, and possibly the rest of the series, because I am behin

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Google+ Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Tumblr Social Icon
  • Snapchat Social Icon

Thanks! Message sent.

bottom of page